Growing Up

20140210-161516.jpg

Well Ladies & Gentleman it took me 18 years & some change, a few crappy life lessons, and a 30 day resign unless my sales improve to find what I actually love. Teaching pitching & motivational speaking.

I always knew this, but always felt defeated trying to move forward. Well, there was a reason for it. Plain and simple I was not ready! I have been going through a season of pouring a spiritual foundation. God has not only shown up when I needed him most, but in times when I thought He wasn’t there.

I got asked to speak at a Coach’s convention in Maine, and after much debate I said “yes.” Still at a job where I don’t fit in and living a life I thought I “should.” My question now is to who’s standards? Since I’ve been out in the “real world” I have been told this is it, and I should just comply. So I did… Well, sort of. Last week when I was handed a 30 day “either step up to our standards or you’re fired” it dawned on me, what the heck am I doing here?

I prayed that God would make it abundantly clear that if this Coach’s convention speech went well, then I would be obedient to His will. Let’s just say it went more than well, and purely because I LOVED talking about what I know so well. To me my story is the same old news but to others they are so inspired & excited. It was such an amazing feeling to know I potentially helped people without intentionally knowing it. All this time I have been reading Rick Warren’s “A Purpose Driven Life” so a few of these points have hit a home run & given me wisdom to share….

“Let the process go on until your endurance is fully developed, and you will find that you have become men is mature character…. With no weak spots.” James 1:3-4

Like stated in Rick Warren’s book “The Purpose Driven Life” on DAY 25, ” if you are facing trouble right now, don’t ask, “Why me?” Instead ask, “what do you want me to learn?” Then trust God and keep on doing what’s right. “You need to stick it out, staying with God’s plan so you’ll be there for the promised completion.” Don’t give up- grow up!

Character building is a slow process just as fruit ripens. At one point it was only a seed in the ground. I dictated a lot of my happiness (emotion) on what temporarily gave me pleasure. I had to realize joy is an action and it is my choice whether I want to accept the scripture I was reading, or keep asking “why?”

My real peace came from “choosing to trust God in circumstances in which we are tempted to worry or be afraid. Integrity is built by defeating the temptation to be dishonest; humility grows when we refuse to be prideful; and endurance develops every time you reject the temptation to give up” (PDL: 201). Praying has become a huge part of my life, during the times of peace & of pain. Without these experiences I would not be who I am today.

From a pitchers stand point or an athlete, or even just a human. How many times have you been tempted and failed? What are you relying on to get you through it, yourself? I did. I doubted, I was also very deceived, and SUPER disobedient to what God had in store for me. I gave birth everyday to negative thinking! I finally stated “I have had enough! I am taking my life back!” Which was just the beginning to this beautiful process.

What are you giving presidency in your life that’s stealing what gifts God has blessed you with? Mine was letting social media, people, and the worlds view of what marriage & a job looked like.

“Take a deep breath, focus in on the mitt, you got this kid. Balls & Strikes are all part of the game.”

Leave a Reply

